Wyoming License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Wyoming Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Wyoming education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Wyoming Real Estate Commission

Wyoming Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Wyoming real estate salesperson license: 54 hours (consisting of the 30-hour salesperson I course and the 24-hour salesperson II course)
  • Wyoming real estate broker license: 62 hours (consisting of the 54 hours of pre-license education and an 8-hour broker management course)

Wyoming State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

Licensees from other states looking to get a real estate license in Wyoming must complete and pass the Wyoming Law portion of the salesperson I course, the salesman II course and the state license exam.

Wyoming Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Wyoming must renew their real estate licenses by December 31 every three years
  • By this date, licensees must take 45 hours of real estate CE, including 24 hours of mandatory classes and 21 hours of electives
  • Students must complete the course within one year from date of enrollment
  • All mandatory courses must be taken in a classroom setting, but elective courses may be taken as online classes
  • The mandatory topics are 8 hours of contracting, trust accounts and closing, 8 hours of marketplace issues and 8 hours of practical applications

Wyoming Appraisal Licensing Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Wyoming Real Estate Commission & Certified Appraiser Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Wyoming Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Trainee
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

 Wyoming Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

 Wyoming Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Trainee which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 75 hours of Appraiser Trainee education AND: Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours), Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

 Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Trainee – No experience required
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months 
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals 

 Wyoming Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All licenses expire two years from date of issuance 
  • All appraisers are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle 
  • The 7 hour USPAP Update course must be taken every two years 
  • The USPAP Update course must be taken within the first three months of the new edition being released

Wyoming Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Wyoming. 

Requirements to Become a Wyoming Home Inspector: There are no current requirements

Home Inspection License Expiration: N/A

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: No CE currently required