Washington License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Washington Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Washington education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Washington State Department of Licensing - Real Estate Commission

Washington Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Washington real estate broker license: 90 hours (a 60-hour real estate fundamentals course and a 30-hour real estate practices course)
  • Washington real estate managing broker license: 90 hours (a 30-hour brokerage management course, a 30-hour business management course and a 30-hour advanced real estate law course)

Washington State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

Washington, however, does not have any reciprocity agreements with any other states.

Washington Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Washington need to renew their real estate licenses every two years from the date of licensure
  • By this date, licensees must complete 30 hours of real estate CE classes. Of these, 3 hours must be the core coursework
  • A minimum of 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of the renewal date
  • Licensees may also submit up to 15 hours of unused continuing education that was completed within 48 months of the renewal date
  • Real Estate professionals renewing their license for the first time are requried to complete 90 hours of approved CE courses. These 90 hours must consist of a 30 hour WA Real Estate Law course, a 30 hour Advanced Real Estate Practices course, 3 hours of core coursework, and 27 elective hours

Washington Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Washington State Department of Licensing. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred. 

Washington Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Trainee 
  • Licensed Real Estate Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser
  • Certified General Real Estate Appraiser 

Washington Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Appraiser Trainees are not required to take a state exam)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

Washington Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Trainee which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Real Estate Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Appraiser Trainee level AND: Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Trainee – No experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 24 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisal 

Washington Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Starting July 1, 2013, all real estate appraiser trainees will be required to complete continuing education before renewing their Real Estate Appraiser Trainee Registration.
  • When you renew on or after July 1, 2013, you’ll be required to submit proof that you’ve completed 28 hours of continuing education in approved real estate appraisal courses or seminars, including the 7-hour National USPAP update.
  • All appraisers must renew their license every other birthday (2 years) 
  • All appraisers must complete 28 hours of continuing education within that two year cycle.  7 of those hours must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent

Washington Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Washington. 

Requirements to Become a Washington Home Inspector:

The Washington State Department of Licensing establishes the Washington Home Inspector Licensing Requirements.

  • Washington home inspection education hours: 120 hours
  • Inspections: 40 hours
  • Exam Required: Washington State Exam (including national)
  • Application Fee: $680
  • Notarized application, background check, and fingerprints are not required. 
  • No minimum age requirement

Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years on applicant's second birthday following issuance

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 24 hours every two years