Tennessee License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Tennessee education requirements for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: TN Department of Commerce and Insurance - Tennessee Real Estate Commission

Tennessee Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Tennessee real estate affiliate broker license: 60 hours
  • Tennesseereal estate broker license: 120 hours (30 hours of which must be an office/broker management course)
  • Brokers licensed after January 1, 2001 must complete 120 additional hours of Commission-approved post-license education before the third anniversary of their broker license

Tennessee State Reciprocity:

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state. Nonresident applicants must:

  • Pass the Tennessee (state law) portion of the examination for the same type of license you have in your resident state
  • Download a worksheet which will assist you in determining your requirements for seeking a Tennessee real estate license
  • Send TREC this completed worksheet and a "Certified License History" from all the states where you hold or have held a real estate license to [email protected]

TREC will review requests and notify applicants of their examination requirements.

Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Tennessee must renew their real estate licenses every two years from the date of licensure
  • Licensees need to complete 16 hours of real estate CE classes
  • This includes 6 hours of core courses, which changes each renewal cycle

Tennessee Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Tennessee Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Registered Appraiser
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Tennessee Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Registered Trainees are not required to take the state exam.)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees.

Tennessee Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Registered Trainee which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Registered Trainee level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours) 

Experience Requirements:

  • Registered Trainee – No experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 24 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals

Tennessee Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All licenses expire two years for date of issuance 
  • All licensees must complete 28 hours of continuing education during that two year cycle 
  • 7 hours must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent 
  • Only 14 hours may be taken through distance education courses

Tennessee Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Tennessee.

Tennessee Home Inspector Course Options:

  • Professional Home Inspection Online Course: $695.00
  • 5-Day Professional Home Inspection Blended Course: $1,845.00

American Home Inspectors Training is authorized for operation as a postsecondary education institution by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission.


Requirements to Become a Tennessee Home Inspector:

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance establishes the Tennessee Home Inspector Licensing Requirements. 

  • Tennessee home inspection education hours: 90 hours
  • Exam Required
  • Application Fee: $300
  • Minimum age requirement: 18
  • Insurance Requirements: Gen Lib of $500,000; E&O coverage in an amount to cover all home inspection activities
  • A High School Diploma or GED is required
  • Notarized application, background check, and fingerprints are not required

Home Inspection License Expiration: 2 years from date of issuance (submission between 120 and 30 days prior to expiration)

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 32 hours every two years 


Job Placement & Graduation Information:

In order to view detailed job placement and graduation information on the programs offered by American Home Inspectors Training,  please visit https://www.tn.gov/thec/bureaus/student-aid-and-compliance/postsecondary-state-authorization/authorized-institutions-and-data.html.


Transferability of Credit: 

No life experience, credit through challenge exams, or previous training may be applied to any Course. AHIT is a special purpose institution. That purpose is to train home inspectors. Students should be aware that transfer of credit is always the responsibility of the receiving institution. Whether or not credits transfer is solely up to the receiving institution. Any student interested in transferring credit hours should check with the receiving institution directly to deter to what extent, if any, credit hours can be transferred.