South Dakota License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

South Dakota Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the South Dakota education needs for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: South Dakota Department of Labor & Regulation - South Dakota Real Estate Commission

South Dakota Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • South Dakota real estate salesperson license: N/A
  • South Dakota real estate broker license: 116 hours
  • South Dakota requires an additional 60 hours of post-license education

South Dakota State Reciprocity

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state. Nonresidents of South Dakota seeking to obtain the equivalent South Dakota license must successfully pass the state portion of the South Dakota broker examination. 

South Dakota Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in South Dakota must renew their real estate licenses by November 30 every two years
  • By this date licensees must complete 24 hours of real estate CE
  • Of these hours, 12 hours must cover the following mandatory topics: real estate contracts, ADA, ethics, environmental issues, antitrust, brokerage services, license law and fair housing

South Dakota Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the South Dakota Board of Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred. 

South Dakota Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Registered Appraiser
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

 South Dakota Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees.

South Dakota Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Registered Appraiser which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Registered Appraiser level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND:  Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Apprentice – No experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser - 1000 hours in no less than 12 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months including at least 1,250 hours of residential experience 
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals

South Dakota Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All South Dakota appraisal certificates, including those on inactive status, expire on September 30 of each year except for those issued after the first week of July. New licenses issued after the first week in July will not expire until September 30 of the following year.
  • A minimum of seven of the 28 classroom hours must be completed prior to June 30 of each even-numbered year in the most current edition of the 7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update Course or its equivalent. (For the 2013 renewal cycle, an applicant must have completed the 2012-2013 7-hour National USPAP Update course between January 1, 2012 and June 30, 2012.) 
  • With the exception of the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course, to meet the requirements, approved courses must be taken between October 1 of the previous odd numbered year and the end of the current continuing education reporting period. (For the 2013 reporting period, classes must be taken between October 1, 2011 and September 30, 2013 to fulfill the continuing education requirements.)

South Dakota Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in South Dakota.

Requirements to Become a South Dakota Home Inspector:

The South Dakota Real Estate Commission establishes the South Dakota Home Inspector Licensing Requirements for Registered and Licensed Home Inspectors.

South Dakota’s home inspector registration is two-tiered: Registered Home Inspector and Licensed Home Inspector. Inspectors must first apply as a Registered Home Inspector prior to completing the requirements to become a Licensed Home Inspector.

  • South Dakota home inspection education hours: 40 hours (registered inspector)
  • Exam: NHIE
  • Inspections required: 100 fee paid inspections (licensed inspector)
  • Application Fee: $200(registered inspector)/$200 (licensed inspector)
  • Previous Experience: none (registered inspector)/at least one year as a Registered Home Inspector (licensed inspector)
    • Registered Home Inspector - none
    • Licensed Home Inspector - at least 1 year as a Registered Home Inspector
  • Notarized application
  • Background check is required (state and federal)
  • No minimum age requirement
  • A High School or GED is required 

Home Inspection License Expiration: 11/30 every two years

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: every two years