South Carolina License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

South Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the South Carolina education requirements for licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation - South Carolina Real Estate Commission

South Carolina Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • South Carolina real estate salesperson license: 90 hours (60-hour unit I sales course and 30-hour unit II advanced real estate principles course) Note: Those with a law degree or a four-year baccalaureate degree from a higher education institution with a major in real estate do not have to take these prelicense courses. 
  • South Carolina real estate broker license: 60 additional hours 

South Carolina State Reciprocity

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

South Carolina currently has reciprocal agreements with Georgia and West Virginia. Applicants from these states must:

  • Be a resident of the reciprocal state from which they are applying
  • Have taken the written exam in the reciprocal state from which they are applying
  • Maintain an active license in the reciprocal state from which they are applying
  • Upload a certification of licensure from the real estate regulatory authority where any current or previous license was held within the last five years

A nonresident broker license may not be granted to an applicant unless that applicant is affiliated with a resident or nonresident broker in charge licensed by the South Carolina real estate commission. A nonresident broker has the option of applying for a Broker in Charge designation by supplying the name of the real estate company they will operate and the location of the company. If a nonresident licensee who receives a South Carolina license by reciprocity becomes a resident, they need to notify the Real Estate Commission of a change in residency within 60 days of the change of address.

South Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in South Carolina must renew their real estate licenses every two years by June 30
  • - In order to renew as active, Salesperson and Broker licensees who are not exempt from completing South Carolina Continuing Education (CE) must have completed ten (10) hours of CE. Four (4) of these hours must include the core course, and the additional six hours may be comprised of electives.
  • - The 4-hour core course for this renewal cycle is The 3 P’s

South Carolina Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

South Carolina Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Appraiser Apprentice 
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser
  • Licensed Mass
  • Certified Residential Mass
  • Certified General Mass

South Carolina Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

South Carolina Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Appraiser Apprentice which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours),15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Appraiser Apprentice level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Appraiser Apprentice – no experience required
  • Licensed Appraiser - a minimum of 250 experience points in appraising in no fewer than 24 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – a minimum of 312.5 experience points in in no less than 24 months 
  • Certified General Appraiser – - a minimum of 375 points in no less than 30 months with at least half of the points in nonresidential appraisals

 South Carolina Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All licenses expire on June 30th even years. To ensure that CE is recorded prior to the renewal deadline of June 30 and does not delay an appraiser’s renewal, it should be received by the Board no later than June 1. The Board cannot guarantee that a renewal will be processed prior to the expiration date of June 30 if forms are received after June 1.
  • All licensees must complete 28 hours of continuing education during the two year cycle 
  • 7 hours must include the USPAP Update course or its equivalent

South Carolina Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in South Carolina.

Requirements to Become a South Carolina Home Inspector:

South Carolina Residential Builders Commission establishes the South Carolina Home Inspector Licensing Requirements

  • South Carolina home inspection education hours: no specified hours, but course must be approved by the state
  • Exam Required: 1. NHIE OR South Carolina specific exam and 2. SC Residential Business management and law exam
  • Application Fee: $80
  • Notarized application is required. Background check: only with certain arrests/convictions. Fingerprints are not required. 
  • Social Security card and Driver's License are required
  • Minimum age requirement: 18
  • Previous Experience: if applying without examination

Home Inspection License Expiration: June 30 every two years, even years

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: There are currently no continuing education requirements.