Rhode Island License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Rhode Island Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Rhode Island education needs for real estate licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation - Real Estate

Rhode Island Real Estate Education Requirements:

  • Rhode Island real estate salesperson license: 45 hours (which must include the 3-hour New Agency Law course)
  • Rhode Island real estate broker license: 90 hours (in addition to the 45 hours required for salespersons)

Rhode Island State Reciprocity

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

Rhode Island has reciprocity agreements for either a salesperson or broker license with Connecticut and Massachusetts. Applicants from these states must submit:

  • a completed real estate application
  • a criminal history record from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General’s office, as well as one from the applicant’s home state law enforcement agency
  • a taxpayer status affidavit or identity verification
  • a certificate of completion of a 3-hour course in lead poisoning/lead hazard mitigation
  • a certificate of errors and omissions insurance
  • a certificate of licensure or letter of good standing from the applicant’s home state’s licensing authority
  • an irrevocable power of attorney form for service of process

Rhode Island Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Rhode Island must renew their real estate licenses by April 30 of even-numbered years
  • Licensees must complete 24 hours of real estate CE
  • This must include 6 hours covering core courses. There are nine core course subject areas to choose from: law of agency, law of contracts, Rhode Island landlord-tenant law, fair housing, lead hazard mitigation or environmental issues pertaining to real property, Rhode Island license law, financing the purchase of real estate and ethics.

Rhode Island Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation - Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Rhode Island Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Trainee Appraiser
  • Licensed Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser 

Rhode Island Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. 
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Trainees are not required to take the state exam)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees 

Rhode Island Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 75 hours for the Trainee Appraiser which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
  • 150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Trainee Appraiser level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

Experience Requirements:

  • Trainee Appraiser - No experience required However, the trainee must gain experience within a two year period working for a certified appraiser 
  • Licensed Appraiser - 2000 hours in no less than 24 months 
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals

Rhode Island Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • All licenses expire two years from the date of issuance 
  • All licensees must complete 28 hours of continuing education during the two year cycle 
  • 7 hours must include the USPAP Update course or its equivalent

Rhode Island Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in Rhode Island.

Required home inspector licensing in Rhode Island goes into effect on January 1, 2020.

Requirements to Become a Home Inspector:

The Rhode Island Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board establishes the Rhode Island Home Inspector Licensing Requirements. 

  • Rhode Island home inspection education hours: No education required
  • Exam Required: NHIE

Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years

Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 12 hours every two years