Oregon real estate broker: 150 hours (Principal brokers must also take the 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS) course)
Oregon State Reciprocity:
Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.
Oregon has reciprocal licensing agreements with the following jurisdictions: Alabama, Alberta, Georgia, Nebraska and South Dakota.
If you currently hold a real estate license in any other state not mentioned above, you will need to complete all the licensing requirements to obtain an Oregon license.
Oregon Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
Real estate professionals in Oregon must renew their real estate licenses every two years by the last day of their birth month
First renewal (active license): 30 hours including the 3-hour Law & Rule Required Course (LARRC) and 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course
Second and subsequent renewals (active license): 30 hours including the 3-hour Law & Rule Required Course (LARRC), and 27 additional hours of CE in OREA-approved topics.
Oregon Appraisal License Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Oregon Appraiser Certification and Licensure Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
Oregon Appraisal Licensure Levels:
Certified Residential Appraiser
Certified General Appraiser
Oregon Appraisal Licensure Requirements:
Must be at least 18 years of age
Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. For Appraiser Assistants: Must attend a 4 hour Board approved Supervising Appraiser/Appraiser Assistant Training Course and pass the course final exam.
Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Not required for the Trainee Appraiser)
Submit application, required documents, and associated fees
Oregon Appraisal Education Requirements:
75 hours for the Appraiser Assistant which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
150 hours for the Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Appraiser Assistant level AND: Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)
Appraiser Assistant – No experience required
Licensed Appraiser - 2000 hours in no less than 12 months
Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals
Continuing Education Requirements:
All appraisers must renew their licenses two years from date of issuance
All appraisers must complete 28 hours of continuing education over the two year period
7 hours must include the USPAP Update course or its equivalent
Oregon Home Inspection Requirements
Learn about the Oregon home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal.