New Jersey real estate salesperson license: 75 hours
New Jersey real estate broker license: 150 hours
New Jersey State Reciprocity:
Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.
New Jersey does not have reciprocity with any other state.
New Jersey Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
Real estate professionals in New Jersey need to renew their licenses by June 30 of odd-numbered years
NOTICE: Renewal due date is extended until 7/19/2021
Licensees need to complete real estate CE courses by April 30 or licensees will incur a $200 fine
NOTICE: CE due date is extended until 5/31/2021
Licensees must take 12 hours of real estate CE classes, including 1 hour of Fair Housing, 2 hours of ethics, and 3 hours of CORE. The remaining 6 hours is elective which can include a mix, or all of the same, of any of the following three CE types: ELECTIVES or ETHICS or CORE or FAIR HOUSING.
New Jersey Appraisal License Requirements
Learn about the New Jersey education requirements for appraisal licensing and renewal.
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the New Jersey Real Estate Appraiser Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
New Jersey Appraisal Licensure Levels:
Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser
Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser
Certified General Real Property Appraiser
New Jersey Appraisal Licensure Requirements:
Must be at least 18 years of age
Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of appraiser licensure
Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of appraiser licensure
For Certified Residential level, one of the following is required:
Bachelor degree in ANY field
Associate's Degree in Business Administration, Accounting, Finance, Economics, or Real Estate
Completion of 30 hours of (1) relevant coursework, or (2) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) exams (3) or some mix of both
For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required. An alternative to the education requirement is also available: 5 years of experience, 5 years without any disciplinary action and completion of specific additional education
Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Trainee Appraisers are not required to take a state exam)
Submit application, required documents, and associated fees
New Jersey Appraiser Education Requirements:
75 hours for the Trainee Appraiser which consist of the following appraiser courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
150 hours for the Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Trainee Appraiser level AND: Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
200 Hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
300 hours for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser education AND: Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)
Trainee Appraiser – No experience required
Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser – 1000 hours in 6 months
Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser – 1500 hours in 12 months
Certified General Real Property Appraiser – 3000 hours in 18 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in nonresidential appraisals
New Jersey Continuing Education Requirements:
Appraisers must renew their license every two years from date of original license
During the two year renewal cycle, all appraisers must complete 28 hours of continuing education appraiser classes by December 31 odd years
7 hours must cover the USPAP Update course or its equivalent
Trainee appraisers are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education by the time the renewal application is submitted to the Board for the third and fourth year that a trainee permit is held
New Jersey Home Inspection Requirements
Learn about the home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal in New Jersey.
Requirements to Become an New Jersey Home Inspector: