Nevada License Requirements

Your resource for understanding all real estate, appraisal and home inspection state license requirements

Course Search

Nevada Real Estate License Requirements

Learn about the Nevada real estate education needs for licensing and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Department of Business and Industry - Nevada Real Estate Division 

Nevada Real Estate License Requirements:

  • Nevada real estate salesperson license: 90 hours
  • Nevada real estate broker license: 64 semester units
  • Nevada also requires an additional 30 hours of post-license education.

Nevada State Reciprocity

Real estate commissions and boards across the country are adopting policies for a real estate agent in one state to more easily become licensed in another state.

Nevada has reciprocal agreements with the following states for real estate salesperson licenses: Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Texas, Utah and West Virginia. Nevada has reciprocal agreements with the following states for real estate broker licenses: California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Virginia. 

Nevada Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:

  • Real estate professionals in Nevada must renew their real estate licenses every four years
  • Licensees must complete 24 hours of real estate CE every 2 years, by the end of the month the license was received
  • Of these 24 hours continuing education hours: 12 hours must be core courses (3 hours on agency, 3 hours on contracts, 3 hours on ethics and 3 hours on laws and legislation) and 12 hours must be electives
  • Of these 24 hours, 12 hours must be taken in a classroom setting, whereas the remaining hours may be online classes

Nevada Appraisal License Requirements

The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Nevada Commission of Appraisers of Real Estate. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.

Nevada Appraisal Licensure Levels:

  • Registered Intern
  • Licensed Residential Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Nevada Appraisal Licensure Requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
  • For Certified Residential level:  A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • For Certified General level:  A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required
  • Registered Interns are required to attend 6 hours of a Commission hearing prior to applying for a license/certification
  • Satisfactory completion of the state examination (Registered Interns are not required to take a state exam)
  • Submit application, required documents, and associated fees

 Nevada Appraisal Education Requirements:

  • 78 hours for the Registered Intern which consist of the following courses:  Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours), Nevada Law (3 hours)
  • 153 hours for the Licensed Residential Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Registered Intern level AND:  Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
  • 203 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Residential Appraiser education AND:  Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
  • 303 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser education AND:  Income Property Appraisal (60 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)

 Experience Requirements:

  • Registered Intern – No experience required
  • Licensed Residential Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 24 months
  • Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months including not less than 500 hours of experience relating to complex property
  • Certified General Real Property Appraiser – 3600 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in nonresidential appraisals

Nevada Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Appraiser licenses expire 2 years from the date of licensed 
  • Appraisers must complete 30 hours of continuing education during the two year cycle
  • 7 hours must cover the USPAP Update course (in class only)

Nevada Home Inspection Requirements

Learn about the Nevada home inspection courses and qualifications needed for certification and renewal.

Licensing Board/Commission: Department of Business and Industry: Nevada Real Estate Divison 

Nevada Requirements to Become a Home Inspector:

  • Nevada home inspection education hours: 40 hours
  • Inspections: Observe at least 25 home inspections performed by a certified master inspector or approved instructor
  • Application Fee: $350
  • Insurance Requirements: E/O insurance of at least $100,000 and liability insurance of at least $100,000
  • Notarized application, background check, and fingerprints are required
  • Minimum age requirement: 18
  • A High School Diploma or GED is required

Nevada Home Inspection License Expiration: Every two years

Nevada Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 20 hours of continuing education is needed every two years for license renewal.

  • 3 hours must be in safety
  • 2 hours must be in 645D Nevada law
  • 15 hours must be in general inspection courses