Alabama real estate broker license: 60 hours + hold an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 months of 36-month period immediately preceding the date of application.
Students in Alabama have 6 months to pass the state exam after completing the course.
Alabama requires an additional 30 hours post-license real estate course within the first 6 months of licensure for active licensees and within 12 months for inactive licensees for the salesperson license
Final exams: Your final course exam must be proctored for qualifying education
Completed applications, all additional materials, and fees MUST be complete and submitted to the Alabama Real Estate Commission within 90 days of your license examination date
If you hold an original current license in another state, you may obtain a RECIPROCAL license by doing the following:
Complete a six‐hour course in Alabama real estate law as specified in Rule 790‐X‐1‐.18
Take and pass the corresponding Alabama portion of the licensing examination
Submit with the application an official "Certificate of Licensure" form (license history) showing you hold a current license in another state. This certification can be obtained from the Real Estate Commission Office in that state. This certification must have been issued within 120 days of our receipt of your reciprocal license application.
Exam candidates will receive an application for licensure at the test centers upon passage of the exam
Alabama Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
Continuing education hours must be completed by September 30th of even years (every two years)
Requirement is 15 hours: 3 hours of the Commission-approved Risk Management course and 12 hours of Commission-approved courses
Alabama Appraisal License Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
Alabama Appraisal Licensure Levels:
Trainee Real Property Appraiser
State Registered Real Property Appraiser
Licensed Real Property Appraiser
Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser
Certified General Real Property Appraiser
Alabama Appraisal Licensure Requirements:
Be at least 18 years old
Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required.
For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required.
Satisfactory completion of the state examination
Submit application, required documents, and associated fees.
Alabama Appraisal Education Requirements:
75 hours for the Trainee Real Property Appraiser which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours)
75 hours for the State Registered Real Property Appraiser (same course requirement as the trainee level)
150 Hours for the Licensed Real Property Appraiser which consist of the same 75 hours of Trainee education AND: Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
200 Hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
300 hours for the Certified General Real Property Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Education AND: General Appraiser Sales Comparison and Income Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Income Approach (45 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)
Trainee Real Property Appraiser – No experience required
State Registered Real Property Appraiser – 1000 hours
Licensed Real Property Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 24 months
Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 24 months
Certified General Real Property Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in nonresidential appraisals
Alabama home inspection education hours: 120 hours (effective March 15, 2020)
Inspections: Participation in 35 home inspections (effective March 15, 2020)
Exam required: ASHI and NHIE
Application fee: $300
Draft home inspection reports for 25 home inspections, 10 of which must be reviewed and corrected by a qualified home inspector (effective March 15, 2020)
Applicant must meet one of four professional qualifications:
Membership in one of the following professional bodies:
American Society of Home Inspectors (AHSI)
Housing Inspection Foundation (HIF)
International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI)
National Institute of Building Inspectors (NIBI)
Approval or certification by on the following agencies to inspection residential construction:
United States Veterans Administration
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development
Southern Building Code Congress International
Council of American Building Officials
High school diploma or equivalent plus work experience for one year as a home inspector and completion of at least 100 home inspections for compensation
Alabama licensure on or after January 1, 1998, as a general contractor, registered professional architect, registered professional engineer, or residential home builder. Renewals of home inspector licensure previously supported by evidence of an acceptable professional license shall not require the applicant to repeat proof of such professional licensing.
Insurance requirements: Obtain bodily injury and property damage liability insurance covering the applicant’s home inspection operations in the sum of not less than $20,000 for injury or damage to property; $50,000 for injury or damage, including death, to any one person; $100,000 for injury or damage, including death, to more than one person; and $250,000 of errors and omissions coverage.
Notarized application is required. Background check and fingerprints are not required.
Home Inspection License Expiration: 12/31 every year (filed by 10/1)
Home Inspection Continuing Education Requirements: 15 hours every year (effective January 1, 2021)